Skip to content

Arts Tasmania

The Tasmanian Literary Awards 2022

On 8 September 2021 the Minister for the Arts announced that the Tasmanian Literary Awards will be held in 2022.

Tasmania’s unique and vibrant culture is one of our most treasured assets, and our State has its own story to tell.

Formerly known as the Premiers’ Literary Prizes, the biennial Tasmanian Literary Awards will offer more opportunities to better recognise excellence in the literary sector.

The Tasmanian Government has increased its biennial prize money investment from $25 000 to $100 000 to support awards in six new categories:

  • a prize for fiction ($25 000)
  • a prize for non-fiction ($25 000)
  • a prize for young readers and children ($25 000)
  • a prize for Indigenous writing ($10 000)
  • a prize for poetry and short stories ($10 000)
  • a young writers fellowship ($5 000)

The University of Tasmania will also continue to support prizes as part of the new Tasmanian Literary Awards.

The Tasmanian Government’s literary awards have been largely unchanged since 2007. These significant changes will allow the Tasmanian Government to:

  • focus on supporting the Tasmanian writing community
  • align with our ongoing commitment to promoting the Tasmanian Brand, and
  • fulfil the objectives of the Creative and Cultural Industries Recovery Strategy, by fostering opportunities for growth and bringing this important industry to the forefront of Tasmanian culture.

To support and foster literary talent in Tasmania, the new Tasmanian Literary Awards will now only be open to writers living in Tasmania.

Planning for the awards is currently underway. More information and eligibility guidelines for each prize category will be announced soon.

The Tasmanian Literary Awards will open for entries later in 2021, with judging and the announcement of award winners to take place in 2022.

2019 Premier’s Literary Prizes

The 2019 Premier’s Literary Prizes winners were announced on 5 December 2019.

Updates and latest information

Subscribe for updates and the latest information about the 2022 Tasmanian Literary Awards.