Skip to main content

Margaret Scott Prize

This $5 000 award is for the best book by a Tasmanian writer and is supported by the University of Tasmania.

Entries for this prize have now closed.

Conditions of entry

  1. The nominated book must have been published in English for the first time between 1 April 2015 and 31 March 2017.
  2. A book is defined as a paper-based publication that is available for sale.
  3. Authors must be living on the date of entry.
  4. A Tasmanian writer is defined as one who has resided in Tasmania for six of the last 12 months.
  5. Books by Tasmanian writers may be eligible for both the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize.
  6. Entries will only be accepted from publishers or authors.
  7. The closing date for entries is 3 April 2017.
  8. Publishers or authors must complete the online entry form including payment and send the receipt with four copies of the nominated title to Arts Tasmania, postmarked by the closing date.
  9. Where a book is eligible for more than one prize there is no need to submit more than four copies.
  10. Copies of nominated books received will become the property of Arts Tasmania and will not be returned to publishers. Copies may be used for marketing purposes by Arts Tasmania.
  11. Entry fee: AU$40 (plus GST) for each entry in each prize category.
  12. Nominees will receive confirmation of their entries and receipt of payment.
  13. Shortlisted authors may be required for press interviews and promotional purposes before and after the announcement of the prizes.
  14. Shortlisted authors must make themselves available to participate in the Premier's Literary Prizes shortlist announcement event expected to be held in September 2017 and the winners' announcement event in late November 2017. Both of these events will be held in Hobart.
  15. Each shortlisted author/publisher will provide Arts Tasmania with an excerpt from their book and allow Arts Tasmania to reproduce and disseminate it for promotional purposes.
  16. Judges will advise Arts Tasmania on eligibility and the decision of Arts Tasmania is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  17. If Arts Tasmania decides that a nominated title does not meet the criteria, the entry fee will be refunded.


  1. A panel of three judges, selected by the Premier’s Literary Prizes Advisory Committee, will judge the entries for both the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize.  
  2. All decisions are final and no discussion or correspondence shall be entered into regarding the judging process.  

Breach of conditions of entry will render an entry invalid.