Skip to main content

The Dombrovskis award for artistic innovation

The Dombrovskis award for artistic innovation (formerly the Premier’s Dombrovskis Award and the Dombrovskis Wilderness Award) was established in 1997 to honour the memory of photographer Peter Dombrovskis, who brought the magnificence of the Tasmanian Wilderness to the attention of the people around the world. Peter Dombrovskis died while photographing the Western Arthur Range in Tasmania’s South West on 28 March 1996 at the age of 51.

First awarded in 1998, the $5 000 award of a grant was first given to encourage young people to pursue excellence in photography in responding artistically to the Tasmanian wilderness. In 2002 the award was opened up to young Tasmanian artists working in all artforms.

From 2009 - 2013 the Dombrovskis award was increased to $10 000 and awarded biennially to assist young artists demonstrating excellence and innovation in the development of their creative practice.


2013 Selena de Carvalho

2011 Amanda Shone

2009 Alicia King

2007 Megan Perkins

2005 Nerida Manson

2004 Kim Rumbold

2003 Alistair Dermer

2001 Alan Moyle

2000 Ivan Stringer

1999  Tim Faircloth

1998 Cameron Crawford